It went on to set the record for the highest-funded video game on the Kickstarter platform, with over $4 million pledged. Now, the campaign is currently at over $5 million (as shown on the official website). The game’s release date has been pushed back due to development issues, but it is nearly ready for release, and there are swathes of fans excited to see it.

I sat down to have a chat to Colin about the game and the meaning behind the game’s tagline: ‘What does one life matter?’

ESpalding: Hello Colin. Many thanks for talking with to me today. Could you start with introducing Torment: Tides of Numenera to the GameSkinny readers?

ES: That’s an interesting area to look into. Where does the “what does one life matter” question come from? Is it drawn from personal experiences?

ES: Ok. So that’s pretty deep. I suppose it is quite an open ended question. I would be lying if I said that I haven’t had thoughts along those lines.

As one gets older, the question of your impending death becomes more pressing, I guess, and you need to figure out what this life is for, but there’s also other questions too. What does it matter if I kill Joe [Colin’s RP Rep] here? Does his life matter? Its a question of the emphasis. What does ONE life matter?

If I give my life so that I can save everyone here from a terrorist attack or something, or if I am willing to sacrifice a child to save the World, for instance. What does one life matter? There’s so many different ways to ask and answer the question that we felt it was open ended enough to give us enough latitude to create a strong game."

On to the game itself, it’s written by Monte Cook?

ES: So, how did you end up picking up Cook’s Numenera setting?

ES: Who do think it is going to appeal to the most? Will it be the fans of Planescape: Torment or have you been trying to direct it at a new audience?

People who are excited about the revival of infinity style engine games or people who were fans of Planescape: Torment or people who wanted to be fans of Planescape: Torment but weren’t around when it first came out. We’re basically hoping that just about anybody will pick it up, but it is primarily for our backers."

ES: What has been your favorite aspect of working on the game?

ES: And in the same vein, what is the favorite aspect of the game itself?

ES: Oh nice! I love Blue Oyster Cult myself!

ES: That sounds really interesting! I look forward to exploring that area!

I’d like to thank Colin for taking the time to chat with me about his upcoming game. For more info about it, you can check out our experience with Tides of Numenera at PAX West earlier this year. I look forward to seeing more about Torment: Tides of Numenera – and especially getting to play it when it finally releases.

Torment: Tides of Numenera is currently on Steam Early Access and is expected to be enter general release at some point in Q1 of 2017. Make sure you check back with us to find out the latest news as the game gets closer to launch!